A bunch of FREAKS

I’m a freak. You’re a freak. We’re all freaks – says co-creators Nik Perring and Caroline Smailes in their new short story collection, FREAKS, illustrated by Darren Craske.

Following on from Perring’s short story collection, Not So Perfect, it’s becoming clear being abnormal is the new normal. If you’ve ever felt like a freak or weirdo or that you weren’t quite right – this is the book for you.

FREAKS, an assortment of mishaped stories (in content and form) centering around everyday people who have out-of-the-ordinary super powers (as if having a super power wasn’t quite unsual enough), is a captivating and compelling journey of escapism and affirmation. Essentially shouting right in our ears (and eyes), we’re all feeling like we don’t quite belong, and this is okay. Playing on a willed naivety while dealing with adult themes, FREAKS hits the perfect balance.

As a special treat they have been lovely enough to let us have a sneak peak before you (really must!) buy.

Check out Invisible below. Who’s written it is up to you to decide, with Perring and Smailes each writing seperately and together.

*

Invisible 

[Super Power: The ability to make oneself unseen to the naked eye]

 

If I stay totally still,

if I stand right tall,

with me back against the school wall,

close to the science room’s window,

with me feet together,

pointing straight,

aiming forward,

if I make me hands into tight fists,

make me arms dead straight,

 if I push me arms into me sides,

if I squeeze me thighs,

stop me wee,

if me belly doesn’t shake,

if me boobs don’t wobble,

if I close me eyes tight,

so tight that it makes me whole face scrunch,

if I push me lips into me mouth,

if I make me teeth bite me lips together,

if I hardly breathe,

if I don’t say a word.

Then,

I’ll magic meself invisible,

and them lasses will leave me alone.

*

Get your freaky hands on this innovative collection now. Or for the more technically inclined they’ve even gone and made you an ebook. Super.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “A bunch of FREAKS

  1. […] last, for now, is what Kathryn had to say over at Dawdlings: ‘[Freaks!]is a captivating and compelling journey of escapism and affirmation. Essentially […]

Leave a Reply

